Always Do Sober

Always do sober what you said you’d do drunk.

That will teach you to keep your mouth shut.

~Ernest Hemingway

IMG_8916-Edit (1024x1280)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Always Do Sober

  1. ady says:

    The Flower and the Dragon Fly look terrific ! How do you manage to get them against a darker background ? I tried to take a photo once,sadly the dragon fly was sitting on ground,so wings became transparent !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I have a ton sitting on the ground as well and some are nearly impossible to see depending on the background. Ones off the ground on stems, limbs or flowers make it a bit easier as i can position myself around them until I have a background that I think might work. Sometimes it does but sometimes it doesn’t. I take close to 20 photos if I can of just one dragonfly experimenting with different angles and backgrounds. This one turned out nice but trust me I have a ton that don’t. 🙂 It’s just fun experimenting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ady says:

        Oooooo…Now I get it..In that case Kudos to you sir ! And I am really glad I see such beautiful and hard-worked photos everyday….Thanks for sharing them 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • I appreciate the compliment. I’m glad to share them with someone such as yourself that shares my joy of getting a good shot occasionally. The best thing we can do is keep practicing and we’ll do nothing but improve. Worst case scenario.. I end up with some shots that at least I like. 🙂 Keep up the great work and have an awesome week!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Very nice dragonfly shot! 🙂 I find them to be pretty elusive, but sometimes they “let” you photograph them. They, in the Pennsylvanian Period, had 2 to 3 foot wingspans!
    Hemingway drank far too much, IMHO! At one point, he lost a ton of his writings and became very depressed (and drank even more)! He should have kept his mouth more shut!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’ve been lucky with a few dragonflies that have been very nice about posing for me. Now a dragonfly with a 2 to 3 foot wingspan would be a eerie thing to photograph!
      Unfortunately it seems that some of our most creative minds are also some of the most broken and emotionally fragmented people of our times. Hemingway had his demons that he battled with for years and eventually succumbed to. Hope you have a great week and happy hunting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

