Shoemaker

Nature says thou shalt keep

the air, skate, swim, walk, ride, run.

When you have worn out your shoes,

the strength of the sole leather

has passed into the fibre of your body.

I measure your health by the number of shoes

and hats and clothes you have worn out.

He is the richest man who pays

the largest debt to his shoemaker.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson, 1851

IMG_8194 (1280x851)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shoemaker

  1. Great shot and quote! 🙂
    My shoes often have wildflower burs in them and are rather muddy… and i’m glad (though my wife is not especially thrilled).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I too have quite a few old worn out hiking boots. Wife gives me a hard time because I actually have more shoes than her.. ones for hiking, biking or for work. What can I say.. I like my feet to be comfortable. 🙂 Have a great week and stay safe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

