A Father’s Gift

Today I’m just going to share a photo my youngest daughter made for me on my birthday (50 years old on Dec. 22). She and her husband are stationed in California where both are serving in the Navy just as I did 30 years ago so this is the first Christmas we’ve had to spend apart since she was born. She posted this photo on Facebook with the words –

HAPPY BIRTHDAY to the best Dad ever!! Couldn’t be who I am today if it wasn’t for you. I miss you so much and can’t wait to come home and give you a giant hug. I hope you are having the best birthday ever! You’ll never be old in my eyes. You’ll always be the strong, amazing, and bestest Papi ever!! I love you so much Miss ya like crazy!!”

All I can say is Wow! Best birthday and Christmas present all wrapped in one!

I hope everyone has a wonderful and safe holidays this year!

birthday

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Father’s Gift

  1. ady says:

    😀 😀 😀 Happy Birthday to you 🙂 The bestest present one can get !! You look so happy and cheerful together. It makes me nostalgic about my time with my Dad too 🙂 Thank you for sharing your joys with us …..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bgddyjim says:

    Gotta love it pops. 😎

    Liked by 1 person

  3. georgetteann says:

    That’s awesome!! And happy birthday to you!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Birthday! Great photos!
    Don’t feel too bad… I’m well into 6’s in front of mine!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I don’t feel any different but it is strange to see a 5 preceding my age now. I’m sure it will repeat itself all over again when I start putting a 6 in place of the 5. 🙂 Hope you had a great holiday and let’s hope for a great New Year!

      Like

  5. Happy belated Birthday. What a beautiful card gift from your daughter. Sorry to hear that you were apart for the holidays. Have a wonderful New Year!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! You want to raise strong independent daughters that take care of business but the down side of that is that they are off doing that without much assistance on my part. I guess all I can do is make sure I’m here when they want some advice or help. 🙂

      Like

  6. Sounds like you did a great job raising your daughter. I have two daughters and a son. The two girls have lived in several states and the older of the two has enjoyed some international travel as well. They are both very independent and know how to use tools. My father taught me and I shared that knowledge with them. My son has enjoyed international travel as well. He is an artist and doing very well for himself. Raising independent children is a beautiful thing. As parents we miss them when they are away but knowing they are strong is much better than having them close and dependent. It makes the times we are together that much more special. FaceTime has been a big help staying in touch.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s great! It’s nice to see our children get the chance to see the world and understand what a huge place it is with differing cultures and ideas. My youngest is stationed in California while enlisted in the navy as a Aviation Technician.. while my oldest graduated from college and is still trying to find her fit in the working world. I was in the Navy myself for 10 years and never dreamed one of my daughters would follow the same path. Very proud of both of them and how well they try their best at staying above water in some tough times. Like you say.. fortunately with the modern conveniences of technology I’m able to communicate with both of them on nearly a daily basis even though it doesn’t quite take the place of seeing them in person. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

