The Essence Of Life

Soon silence will have passed into legend.

Man has turned his back on silence.

Day after day he invents machines and devices

that increase noise and distract humanity

from the essence of life, contemplation, meditation…

tooting, howling, screeching, booming, crashing,

whistling, grinding, and trilling bolster his ego.

His anxiety subsides.

His inhuman void spreads monstrously like a gray vegetation.

~Jean Arp

IMG_0144 (1280x989)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Essence Of Life

  1. Very nice pic!
    Yes… the masses pick the virtual and superficial over the very deep and real!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Sad but true. I spent my time in the hamster wheel chasing that illusory carrot for many years before figuring out that I was getting nowhere and losing our most precious commodity.. time. Now I try to spend that currency much more wisely. Have a great weekend and I hope your weather cooperates! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you are becoming wiser! Most don’t!
    You have a wonderful weekend too. We’re supposed to get around 10 inches of snow here soon. The snow shovel is ready and on the front porch… I’m not! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. PJ Clouse says:

    That is why I remove my hearing aids all the time. Have tried going out for a nice dinner lately, the ambiance is just dreadful with noise. Your picture is beautiful, one small acorn, not lost amongst the forest of oak trees.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My tinnitus is always ringing so I am never without noise. My audiologist said I should always have noise even when sleeping. They have ordered a hearing aid with white noise – the goal is to retrain my brain. Maybe one day I will enjoy silence again. The ringing in my head is tolerable if there is silence around me. At home I keep it silent except for the train that rambles past every so often – no control over that. It seems we have to get deeper and deeper into the woods before the noise dissipates. At work there is a constant chatter of people, ringing of phones, the drone of the computer, printer and lighting. I asked to have the lights overhead turned off. Along with the noise pollution there is light pollution. Put me in the woods and let me hear the sounds of nature – then I feel alive and connected. Nice pic and quote.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t imagine what that must be like. I suffered from a bout of vertigo for a short time. Every time I laid down for bed it was like the world was spinning around me and made me sick to my stomach. Luckily it went away on it’s on after a couple of weeks but it gave me a new respect for those that suffer from those types of symptoms. The last time I suffered with something like tinnitus it was self inflicted from being very close to the stage during an AC/DC concert during their cannon fire offs on the song For Those About To Rock. My ears rang for at least a week afterwards. I hope your problem becomes less an issue for you some day and that you find a peaceful spot somewhere deep in the woods where you can find the least distraction to your inner ear and mind. Good luck and have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

